Paintings and Drawings from this Year

29 Nov

Kachinas – Acrylic on Paper

28 Nov


Painting number 32 of 50

4 May


This was a lesson about using a small number of colors.

Beginning Painting

2 May

I decided I would like to learn to paint before I die, so I bought a book and some paints. The book I bought is called: “Learn to Paint in Acrylics with 50 Small Paintings: Pick up the skills * Put on the paint * Hang up your art” by Mark Daniel Nelson

It’s a lot of fun. When you suck at something there is no pressure to do anything but have fun.

Here is what I have done so far:

Modern arrangement of an old Korean folksong (Arirang)

13 Mar

Review: UFO – Seven Deadly

3 Feb

UFO Seven DeadlyUFO have been together for 42 years. In that time they have released 20 studio albums. The lineup has changed a bit over the years, but the band today has three original members Phil Mogg ( vocals), Paul Raymond (keyboards, guitars), Andy Parker (drums) and guitar slinger, Vinnie Moore.

It’s not often that I fall in love with an album on the first listen through. But when I do, I know I am in for a journey. That’s exactly what happened when I first listened to UFO’s new release, Seven Deadly.

FYI, the first track “Fight Night” is best played as loud as you can stand it. My pictures were falling off the walls. The biting rhythm guitar part is so infectious. Can’t help but play your air guitar while it’s playing. You will find yourself humming it later, “Tell my friends in ol’ Calcutta, the cat is staying and I’m living in the gutter.”

“Angel Station” is a beautiful ballad about the loss of a loved one. It has layers of chorused guitars underneath a legion of angelic vocal harmonies. It really makes you feel like your ears are in heaven when you are listening to it.

Seven Deadly ends strong with “Waving Goodbye”,  a song with a nice blend of acoustic and electric guitars with a nice side of Hammond B3 organ.  It’s the perfect song to end the album because it makes my finger hit the replay button and I start the journey again.

It isn’t hard to pin down what makes Seven Deadly such a great album. The songs are well written, catchy and intelligent, but most of all they have heart. The vocals are simply amazing and that would be enough to make Seven Deadly great, but on top of that are some amazing guitar sounds.

This is a solid rock album. It’s music like this that will keep the Rock genre alive forever.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Fight Night, Angel Station, Waving Goodbye

Kirk Bullough – Contributor


  1. Fight Night
  2. Wonderland
  3. Mojo Town
  4. Angel Station
  5. Year of the Gun
  6. The Last Stone Rider
  7. Steal Yourself
  8. Burn Your House Down
  9. The Fear
  10. Waving Goodbye

Review: The Weber Brothers – Baddest Band In The Land

16 Jan

Baddest Band in the LandWhen I first listened to The Weber Brothers new CD Baddest Band in the Land, I pictured a bunch of guys in their late fifties who spent the last 30 years paying their dues playing in a Classic Rock cover band. Boy was I wrong.

Brothers Ryan Weber (vocals, guitar) and Sam Weber (bass) were born in 1980-83 in Baltimore, MD. They started playing in 1992. By the time Sam was 15 he was playing in bars at night and then getting up to go to school the next morning.

In 2001 Ryan emailed Ronnie Hawkins and through that email Ryan and Sam ended up working his farm in the day and being schooled by him at night. They eventually became official members of his band before breaking out on their own.

In the line-up for the Baddest Band in the Land the Weber Brothers are joined by: Emmet Van Etten (Drums), Shai Peer (Keyboards) and Tim Bracken (Multi-Instrumentalist).

Baddest Band in the Land gets off to a strong start with a hard rocking song “Stay in the Game.” It has a groove that reminds me of something Zeppelin would play. It’s littered with excerpts of American political activist, Mario Savio’s “Bodies upon the gears” speech. The vocals and keys remind me of the Doors. It’s probably my favorite track on the CD.

“Can’t Help Feeling Bad,” is like a cross between Bruce Springsteen and David Bowie. “Nothing We Can’t Get Through” reminds me a little of the Flaming Lips. Then the band switches it up with a classic Rockabilly style song, “Sell, Sell, Sell”.

The track “Who Ever Would Have Thought” is the low point of the CD for me; it’s a less catchy rip off of “Whiter Shade of Pale”. Things look up though with, “Things Are Looking Up For You.” It’s a cross between Tom Petty and The Who. The song “Panic Attack” could easily be an AC/DC song with a little REM thrown in. Baddest Band in the Land Ends with “Different Day” which reminds me of “Trampled Under Foot,” by Zeppelin with some REO Speedwagon and Kansas thrown in. The whole album seems to be sprinkled with a bit of the Beatles.

If you took all the best recordings from classic rock, diced them into little pieces and glued them back together in different places you would have this CD. It was recorded live over two days live. It feels nice and raw. The vocals and musicianship are great and the band really lives up to its claim of being the “Baddest Band in the Land”.

I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes Classic Rock, Heavy Rock or Album Oriented Rock.
4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Stay in the Game, Can’t Help Feeling Bad, Different Day

Kirk Bullough – Contributor